Weekend of Champions

This could be me!
Photo courtesy of: kpopstarz.com

Holy crap on a cracker! The Silva Gang was honored with another award! Gosh, I’m so giddy right now, I feel like the little Korean dude in that Gangnam Style video!

Thank you to Cassie Behle for the One Lovely Blog Award! Cassie is hilarious, an awesome writer, and my blogger bestie who continues to redefine life’s perceptions… one glass of wine at a time.

As a recipient of this award, I’m supposed to share something about myself. Since I’m incredibly thankful that you read my extremely sarcastic blog on a regular basis, and I want you to come back, I’ll keep it brief so as not to lull you into a deep sleep. Besides, there isn’t much I can tell you that you probably don’t already know.

One random fact that I will share with you is that my ancestors hail from the Planet Goo Gone in the majestic spiral galaxy called NGC 4414. I’d tell you more about it, but I want to avoid any sticky situations related to a full disclosure. Ha, just kidding (but how cool would that be?!).

What I was going to say is that I absolutely despise camping. Yes, despise. I pretty much avoid anything with the word “camping” in it. I’ll be writing all about it in my next blog post, so stay tuned! I also dislike artsy fartsy films, overly emotional films, or films with exceedingly cryptic plots. I’m more of a Lord of the Rings and Gladiator kind of gal, and not so much a Memento or Crying Game kind of gal.

As for another blogger I’d like to pass this One Lovely Blog Award to…

…I love you all (I really do)!

This time around, please join me in congratulating Harper Faulkner over at All Write! HF is a super funny guy, and I’d like to thank him for all the laughs!

Lady Antebellum performing in Hawaii.

In other news, I saw Lady Antebellum in concert in Hawaii this weekend, and they were fabulous! The only thing that wasn’t fabulous was that Darius Rucker and Thompson Square didn’t bother to show up! I know! How rude! The hubby and I were looking forward to seeing them on tour with Lady Antebellum, but they just didn’t have any aloha for us.

Neither did the middle-aged couple sitting next to us at the concert apparently, as they didn’t even hesitate to park their overweight derrières in our seats before we got there. As they stuffed their faces with nachos, we literally had to point out the seat numbers and show them our tickets to motivate them to budge. To make matters worse, they reverted to ignorance as an excuse, and they gruffly remarked: “Well, we didn’t know! It’s so dark, we couldn’t see!”

As I stood there pondering life’s pressing questions, particularly why these people’s parents didn’t use birth control, they started packing up their belongings and vacating our seats. It made the whole experience that much more worth it when I squeezed by them and managed to whack the lady in the face with my gigantic purse (yes, that would be the purse that the hubby refers to as a feed bag). She gave me a dirty look, and I said to her “Oh, whoops! Did my bag hit you? Gosh, it’s so dark, I couldn’t see!”

And that, my friends, is how the game of karma is played.

12 Comments

Filed under Silva Nuggets (Random)

12 responses to “Weekend of Champions

  1. Wow! What a nice surprise. Thank you so much. I have never received the One Lovely Blogger Award. But, I have always considered myself to be rather lovely. And, receiving the award is certainly better than getting whack in the head by a big purse. I, too, despise camping. Also, I love the expression, holy crap on a cracker. As to that dancing dude, I’m still trying to master the Macarena. (Look it up, youngster!) Again, thank you, Traci. I love the entire “gang”! All joy. HF

    • And we love you too HF! Congrats again! Glad we could give you an award you haven’t received yet. FYI- you and I sound equally uncoordinated, my friend. Let me just say that the attempts I’ve made to Macarena, chicken dance, Roger Rabit, and electric slide have ended up as one gigantic klutz stew! 😉

  2. foroneplease

    Wonderful! 😀 congrats!! And “…my ancestors hail from the Planet Goo Gone in the majestic spiral galaxy called NGC 4414” reminded me of Douglas Adams’ Hitchhikers guide to the Galaxy, the funniest thing ever! Thanks for that, am gonna read it again 😛
    P.S: thanks for your humor too!

    • Thanks for reading! We’re glad to have you as a fan. I’ve never read Douglas Adams’ Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, but I’m very excited about the recommendation. I must go out and get it immediately!

  3. Michelle Gillies

    I do not under any circumstances enjoy camping. Never. Never. Never.
    Sorry, I get a twitch whenever someone mentions it.
    I’m with you on Lord of the Rings but, I fell asleep during Gladiator and I confess The Crying Game was brilliant.

    • You fell asleep during Gladiator?! Wow, I’ve never heard anyone say that before! How hilarious! You are too funny Michelle. I never imagined that severed heads and watching people being burnt to death could induce sleep. 😉

      • Michelle Gillies

        No kidding! And Russel Crowe scantily clad!
        I think it got to big a build up and when I got to see it I got bored and fell asleep. For the record I have never fallen asleep at a movie before or since.

  4. Anonymous

    kharma??? how about major bachi! LOL

  5. Oh, my gosh! So many things!

    1. The picture you Photoshopped, alone, made me giggle my booty off! Thanks for the free workout!
    2. I also HATE (hate, hate) camping. It’s like, hey – let’s see what it’s like to be homeless for a week while simultaneously using up all our work vacation. Cool.
    3. Bummer about DR and TS not showing up for, you know, the show. Reminds me of when Eric Church made us wait an hour before coming onstage because he was unhappy with how much he was getting paid.
    4. My friend brought her two babies to visit for just an hour this weekend. Based on the scenario that went down, I will be doublng (tripling?) my birth control just to make sure nothing accidental happens.

    • Geez, Eric Church sounds like a Prima Donna! That’s such a bummer, because I love his music too! As for #4 on your list… I agree! Something ca-raaazy must have went down at your place with those kids! What the hell happened?! Did the babies smear guacamole all over your cat and eat your favorite collection of country music CD’s?! 😉

      • cassiebehle

        DId you know that babies just scream? All the time? For no reason? It’s very immature of them, I think. I don’t agree with it at all.

Leave a Comment