What’s Your Interest in Pinterest?

In a feeble attempt to understand the magical and mysterious world of Pinterest, I joined the site last week, and to-date I have zero followers. Buh-bam.

While virtually twiddling my thumbs over there, I’ve had some time to reflect on the situation, during which a couple of thoughts have occurred to me:

1)      What exactly is the purpose of Pinterest?

2)      Why doesn’t Pinterest give members at least one default friend, so no one feels insignificant? Perhaps someone like Myspace Tom, but he could be Pinterest Jim.

From what I’ve been able to gather in the past week, it appears that people pick photos that they consider pin-worthy from the internet to add to their online pin boards. The end result is a virtual collage of sorts.

The most significant thing I’ve learned from Pinterest so far (which is actually pretty awesome) is that you can soak watermelon in tequila, and then dip each slice in margarita salt for what is seemingly the most mind-blowing fruit experience.

Mmmm. Margarita watermelon.

What was I saying? Oh yeah. After a week of research, I’ve come to the conclusion that to become a dedicated pinner, you really can’t have a demanding career. By process of elimination, the majority of Pinterest users must either be disgruntled employees at Initech, full-time students, housewives, or retired members of AARP.

To my amazement, Pinterest aficionados can spend an entire day pinning photos of knitted doilies, vegan goulash recipes, and other totally random things that I would never think anyone would ever be interested in… like a macramé skirt with a jellyfish on it, for instance. Yet, for some reason, it works, and there are other people out there who get it.

As for me, right now I’d regard myself a Silva pin: a beginner with minimal Pinterest interest and no followers.

What’s your interest in Pinterest, and what type of enthusiast are you?

10 Comments

Filed under Silva Nuggets (Random)

10 responses to “What’s Your Interest in Pinterest?

  1. Michelle Gillies

    I shall follow you on Pinterest and see what you are pinning. I enjoy Pinterest usually when I am waiting for something. I need to be at the computer but don’t want to start something new until I have finished whatever I am working on. It has been a happy accident that I have found some great info, great people and learned a lot from Pinterest.

    • Aaah, Michelle… my first pinner! I figured there would be many of you sharp pins out there who would set me straight and show me the light! 🙂 I have a feeling that it’s going to be one of those things that will become addicting the more I stick with it. That’s great, because I don’t know about you, but I could really use some more distractions! 😉

      • Michelle Gillies

        Hehehehheh…oh, it can be distracting. I have to practice self control a little…OK, a lot. One other thing I use it for is when I find something that I want to remember at future date I pin it to a board and that is the first place I look now. There is nothing worse than saying “oh, I just saw that somewhere. What site was that on?”.

  2. Oh my gosh, I absolutely ADORE Pinterest! Let’s be friends – mine user site is pinterest.com/cassiejean03. I used to think I wouldn’t find anything on it, but I regularly try out the recipes (all of which have turned out amazing), hair styles, DIY projects, etc., etc. I have a feeling it will be a lifesaver for wedding planning if I ever get engaged!

    • Gosh, another sharp pin! I’ll add you now! What can I say? I think the site is growing on me, and every so often, I’ll find a really cool thing. But, I still don’t completely get it. One of the cool things I found was a nail design that I think you would totally dig, because I dig it too, and you and I share a sort of common geekiness. 😉

      • My next stop is over to your Pinterest! I get my nails done every two weeks, so I’m ALWAYS looking for new designs. My nail tech wouldn’t let me do neon yellow last time though. I’m not Nikki Minaj enough, I suppose… 😦

      • “Not Nikki Minaj enough”… that made me laugh. You could convince her you’re a fan of Lady Gaga, and maybe she’ll shape your nails into some funky futuristic pyramid or cone shape. Painting them neon yellow won’t seem all that much of a stretch after that! 😉

      • I would LOVE to, but at the same time, she brings me back to the real world, where I have corporate meetings all day long. Big wigs, I don’t think, would take me seriously. Wah, wah, waaaaaah. 🙂

  3. so this watermelon……

    how long do you soak it in the Tequila?? overnight?

    • Ha ha, Richard! I know! I want to try it too! I would probably soak the watermelon in tequila and Triple Sec for an hour or two. Soaking it overnight might turn it from “refreshing” to “dangerous”! 😉

Leave a Comment

