A Girl Wants What a Girl Wants

If you don’t believe me, you should meet our dog Bella. At our house, we have about a dozen containers filled with different treats in the “dog closet.” Everyday, when the dogs go potty, they get a treat as a reward from that closet. Trust me, it’s a tough job to let them out of the house, and get them to stay focused on the goal of relieving themselves. Sometimes they see a stray dog, some cat poop, a shiny object, or something else that distracts them from the task at hand. When they go out and do what they’re supposed to do and come right back, I consider that an accomplishment.

Over the years, I’ve given the dogs little strips of jerky or mini biscuits as a reward for going to the bathroom. After so many times of doing this, I realized that Bella would stare at me with this look. It was the kind of look that seemed to say “What? That’s it?”

One day, she gave me her usual look, and I exclaimed “Fine! Go pick something else then!”

To my surprise, she walked over to the dog closet and actually pointed to the container she wanted: the one with the jumbo chew treats. Okay, don’t get too excited. She didn’t point to the container with her finger… or toe… or whatever that furry nub is. She isn’t that talented. She pointed with her nose. Although, I guess if the guy on the GEICO commercial can train guinea pigs how to row a boat, anything is possible.

At first, I thought it was just a fluke, so I told Bella to pick again. All that proved was that she was smarter than I expected. She went right back and pointed to the same container with her nose.

And, what’s the moral of this story, other than the fact that we have a four-legged, canine prodigy running around the house?

A girl wants what a girl wants. There’s no discouraging a girl on a mission.

 

Have you ever been so focused on a goal that nothing could stop you?

8 Comments

Filed under Furry Tales

8 responses to “A Girl Wants What a Girl Wants

  1. cassiebehle

    Sometimes Chloe will be so content laying on me that when I tell her I need to get up, she’ll look at me with the most forlorn expression and meow so sharply that I’m sure she just said, “No.” Gets me every time…

  2. They are very sharp when it comes to their food. My fur baby points her nose at her dish and then goes to her container of food until we give her what she wants “)

  3. Aw, I am lovin’ Bella. As for your question, the answer is no. At least, not yet.

  4. I wish my cat was as smart.

    • Do you think it’s more of an issue of apathy and rebellion more so than a lack of genius? After all, cats are cats, and they refuse to do what anyone tells them to do! If not, there’s always hope. Maybe one day the “Baby Einstein” book makers will come out with a “Cat Einstein” series. 😉

Leave a Comment

