3 Life Lessons from Grandpa Confucius

Okay, my grandpa wasn’t actually Confucius. My grandpa was simply like Confucius: frequently instilling memorable life lessons and bestowing wisdom, but in unconventional and humorous ways. Here are a few of the many insightful lessons I learned from conversations with my grandpa during my childhood:

Lesson #1- Don’t bother them, and they won’t bother you.

Me: “Grandpa, I don’t want to go play outside. There’s a bee nest!”

Grandpa: “Never mind. If you don’t bother the bees, they won’t bother you.”

Me: “But Grandpa, they were chasing me, and my brother got stung already!”

Grandpa: “What did I say? Don’t bother them, and they won’t bother you. Of course your brother got stung. He was probably shooting at the nest again with his BB gun, and being a jackass.”

Nothing good comes from being a jackass

Lesson #2- Be glad for what you have, it could be worse.

Me: “Grandpa, you always call me by a weird nickname. What does it mean?”

Grandpa: “Nothing, really. It’s one of the sounds you used to make when you were a baby. Not from your mouth. From your diaper. You farted a lot.”

Me: “You nicknamed me after a fart? So, what does my brother’s nickname mean?”

Grandpa: “Stupid head. Now just be glad for what you have. It could be worse.”

Lesson #3- Learn to listen.

Grandpa: “Buddha once said ‘Learn to listen to the voice within yourself. Your body and mind will become clear and you will…’”

Me (interrupting): “Wait, I don’t get it. What does that mean?”

Grandpa: “It means you need to shut up and listen. Here I am trying to tell you something important, and you’re too busy talking and asking questions.”

What life lesson(s) did you learn from your family?

4 Comments

Filed under Best Things We Learned, We Learned from...

4 responses to “3 Life Lessons from Grandpa Confucius

  1. Marc Schuster

    My grandfather always told me to live and let live (much like your first piece of wisdom!). Thanks for this post!

  2. Your grandfather was a very wise man! The most important lesson I learned was never bring my boyfriend to visit my grandmother because she would always call him by the last boyfriends name…

    • Ha ha! That is SO true. My dad used to do that with my boyfriends too. Unfortunately, I think most of the time it was on purpose, because he was trying to scare them off!

Leave a Comment

